HOROLOGY A chronology of Dvation 1978/1979/1980


Deluxe 6LP fine linen book and folder with an embossed cover. Includes DVD and 36-page booklet plus individually-numbered certificate in edition of 600 - stunning, definitive package** Vinyl-on-Demand serve an absolutely crucial Industrial/EBM history lesson with a ‘Chronology Of DVAtion 1978 / 1979 / 1980’. Formed in Sheffield, 1978, around the core lineup of Adi Newton, Steven Turner, David Hammond, and Simon Elliot-Kemp, ClockDVA built upon the havoc created by their industrial forefathers, Throbbing Gristle, sharing their subversive taste for sonic, moral and political deviance. They were part of a virile and prolific scene, collaborating and consorting with the likes of Jhonn Balance, Chris Watson, Martin Ware, and Richard H. Kirk in their earliest days to forge a distempered and visceral sound. This box set covers their nascent releases prior to the legendary ‘White Souls in Black Suits’ for TG’s Industrial Records label and holds six albums of primordial, bastardised electronics and psycho acoustics fused with ideas gleaned from the writings of Aleister Crowley, Marquis De Sade, Kenneth Grant, Antonin Artaud or Charles Baudelaire. With all of this in mind, it’s easy to see how these six LPs comprise such an integral component in the machinery of early Industrial music. From the etheric sludge of ‘2nd’ to the blank-eyed restraint on ‘Lomticks Of Time’, thru ‘Sex Works Beyond Entanglement’s libidinous yen, to the heady flux of ideas in ‘Fragment’ and their darkly seductive film soundtrack ‘Fragment Of Hysteria’, Clock DVA at once defied categorisation and established the aesthetics of the New Wave to come. Alongside TG, Pere Ubu, and The Pop Group, Clock DVA are genuine pioneers of this most uncompromising branch of music, and well deserving of this milestone compilation. An absolute must for all folowers of electronic/synth/wave/Industrial music - so so good.